Ryan in for Davey OBrien

BC quarterback Matt Ryan has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien).
In addition to Ryan, the list includes Ohio State junior Todd Boeckman, Oklahoma freshman Sam Bradford, Hawaii senior Colt Brennan, Louisville senior Brian Brohm, Air Force senior Shaun Carney, Arizona State junior Rudy Carpenter, Missouri junior Chase Daniel, Oregon senior Dennis Dixon, Texas Tech junior Graham Harrell, Arkansas State sophomore Corey Leonard, Kansas sophomore Todd Reesing, Florida sophomore Tim Tebow, West Virginia junior Pat White, and Kentucky senior Andre Woodson.
When voting, the Selection Committee for The O'Brien is asked to evaluate each candidate on quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The combination of votes from the Selection Committee and fan vote will determine the Finalists as well as the Winner this season, with 5% of the total vote coming from dedicated fans.
"The Semifinalist List confirms that being a player of strong character and leadership combined with talent and academics can translate into more than just wins on the field," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "The O'Brien recognizes the diligence and commitment of these young men to their teams, their schools and the true spirit of the game."
This talented group of 15 quarterbacks will continue to jockey for position until the balloting for the three Finalists closes at noon Central Time on Sunday, Nov. 18. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6.
Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily on The O'Brien's Web site, The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds until The O'Brien winner is announced, with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote.