EagleAction - Mike Ruth Inducted to College Football Hall of Fame
football Edit

Mike Ruth Inducted to College Football Hall of Fame

Defensive tackle Mike Ruth is one of only two players in Boston College history to have his number retired. There have been a lot of great players to walk through the gates of Alumni Stadium--from Matt Ryan and Luke Kuechly, and all of the men from yesteryear. Yet only his No. 68 and Doug Flutie's No. 22 have earned that highest honor. Now, Ruth will get another recognition: induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

On Tuesday morning, the National Football Foundation announced that Ruth will be one of 10 players and three coaches that will grace its halls beginning on Dec. 5, 2017 with the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner. He is the seventh BC player (three coaches) to earn this honor.

“There is more honor, courage, toughness and teamwork displayed in one football game then one might find in an entire year off the field,” Ruth said in a BC Athletics press release. “It reminds us all of what’s best in life and in America. To be honored by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame for my part as a nose tackle from Boston College is the single greatest moment in my life."

Ruth played at BC from 1982 to 1985. He won the Outland Trophy in 1985 as the nation's best interior lineman. He was a team captain as a senior, and was selected as a First Team All-American, a requirement of College Football Hall of Fame induction. In his four-year career, Ruth had 344 tackles, 29 sacks, seven forced fumbles, and three fumble recoveries. He was chosen in the second round of the 1986 NFL Draft by the New England Patriots, where he spent two years. In his post-playing career, Ruth earned his masters in education from Harvard, worked in insurance, has served as president of his own consulting firm since 2003, and is now a teacher at Everett High School in Massachusetts.

Ruth joins Doug Flutie, Mike Holovak, George Kerr, Gene Goodreault, Chet Gladchuk, and Charlie O'Rourke among BC players in the College Football Hall of Fame. Coaches Frank Cavanaugh, Gil Dobie, and Frank Leahy are there as well. Fellow inductees for this season include Bob Crable (LB, Notre Dame, 1978-81); Marshall Faulk (RB, San Diego State, 1991-93); Kirk Gibson (WR, Michigan State, 1975-78, former MLB player); Matt Leinart (QB, Southern California, 2003-05); Peyton Manning (QB, Tennessee, 1994-97); Bob McKay (OT, Texas, 1968-69); Dan Nguyen (LB, Texas A&M, 1995-98); Adrian Peterson (RB, Georgia Southern, 1998-2001); Brian Urlacher (DB, New Mexico, 1996-99); Danny Ford (Clemson 1979-89, Arkansas 1993-97); Larry Kehres (Mount Union, 1986-2012); and Steve Spurrier (Duke 1987-89, Florida 1990-2001, South Carolina 2005-15).