McGovern Stays, Frye Hired

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. - Justin Frye has been named offensive line coach and Bill McGovern has been named linebackers coach, according to an announcement made by Boston College head football coach Steve Addazio.
Frye served as offensive line coach under Addazio at Temple for the last two seasons, served as offensive line graduate assistant with Addazio at Florida for two years (2009-10) and began his coaching career at Indiana University - where he played football from 2002-06 - as an offensive graduate assistant (2007-08).
"Justin Frye has played for me, been a graduate assistant for me and has coached the offensive line with me," Addazio said. "He is a great young coach who has had a knack at forming great relationships with his players while developing outstanding offensive linemen. He's coached some of the finest offensive linemen in the country that are currently great successes in the NFL and will continue the great tradition of offensive linemen at Boston College."
While at Florida, Frye helped mentor future NFL draft picks Maurkice Pouncey, Mike Pouncey, Marcus Gilbert, and Maurice Hurt. The 2010 Gator offensive line allowed four Florida players to rush for over 300 yards on the year - one of only six BCS teams to accomplish the feat. In Frye's first season with Florida, the Gators led the SEC in rushing offense and total offense while finishing second in scoring offense.
Frye's offensive line at Temple blocked for the top rushing offense in the Big East as the Owls rushed for 201.2 yards per game in 2012. All-Big East first team performer Montel Harris led the conference with 105.4 rushing yards per game. In Frye's first season at Temple, the team set school records for rushing yards in a season (3,335) and rushing touchdowns in a season (38) behind the blocking of All-MAC selections Pat Boyle and Wayne Tribune.
A 2006 graduate of Indiana, Frye played four seasons for the Hoosiers under the tutelage of Addazio as offensive coordinator. As a senior, Frye captained Indiana and earned the team's Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award. He set the school record for most consecutive starts with a streak of 45 games.
McGovern has served as Boston College's linebackers coach for the last 12 years and as the team's defensive coordinator for each of the last four. He has guided two Boston College linebackers to Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors in the last five seasons - Mark Herzlich (2008) and Luke Kuechly (2011). Kuechly, a two-time All-American, also earned the Nagurski, Lott Impact, Rotary Lombardi and Butkus trophies that season.
"Bill McGovern is one of the most respected coaches in the Northeast, not only as a defensive coordinator but as a linebacker coach," Addazio said. "He's one of the finest recruiters in the country. He's a Boston College guy. He loves this place and has a great passion for Boston College. He has great relationships with current and former players and will be a tremendous, vital person in our program as we move forward."
McGovern came to Boston College in 2000 after serving as defensive backs coach at Pittsburgh for three seasons (1997-99). He served as linebackers coach for nine seasons (2000-08) before being named defensive coordinator in 2009. McGovern's defenses at Boston College ranked among the nation's top 26 in total defense in two of the last four seasons.
Under McGovern's guidance in 2010, Boston College led the nation in rushing defense (82.8 ypg) and led the Atlantic Coast Conference in total defense (309.7 ypg). It ranked 13th among national leaders in total defense, 19th in pass efficiency defense (113.3 ypg) and 19th in scoring defense (19.5 ppg). In 2009, the Eagles' defense ranked second in the ACC - and 14th in the nation - in rushing defense (103.2 ypg). Boston College finished the season ranked 19th in the nation in scoring defense (19.8 ppg) and 26th in total defense (327.6 ypg).
McGovern has coached or recruited notable Boston College linebackers Frank Chamberlin, Scott Bradley, Vinny Ciurciu, Josh Ott, Ricky Brown, Ray Henderson, 2004 Big East Rookie of the Year Brian Toal, 2006 All-ACC second-team honoree Jo-Lonn Dunbar, Herzlich and Kuechly.
Boston College has had one of its former linebackers on each of the last three Super Bowl winning teams - Mark Herzlich (NY Giants, 2012), Robert Francois (Packers, 2011) and Jo-Lonn Dunbar (Saints, 2010).